Scenario

At the beginning...

1 hour

3 hours

6 hours

    A receptacle containing pairs of polarised glasses is positioned at the entrance to a room closed off by a white curtain. A notice invites you to take a pair of glasses which you then put on before walking through to the other side of the curtain.


When you cross the entrance, you find yourself in the centre of a room about six metres across. The first thing you notice is a one-metre cube with seemingly transparent sides. Within the structure, what appears to be an organic form is emitting visual pulsations accompanied by barely audible rhythmic beating. You are immediately struck by the illusion of materiality created by this form.


As you take your first steps in the direction of the cube, you come across the optimum vantage point indicated by a marker on the ground. Instinctively, you stop at this point. The sound of the rhythmic beating is now perfectly audible. It is clearly coming from a source inside the cube.


There is no direct lighting on the cube nor the form within, both of which are bathed in a soft, diffused glow.
The internal form has grown imperceptibly since you first entered the room. What exactly lies inside? As curiosity draws you closer, the form seems to respond to your presence since the rhythmic beating accelerates. You take one or two steps to the side and everything inside the cube stretches and distorts anamorphically until the trompe l'oeil is finally unveiled: far from being transparent, the cube's surface is in fact opaque.


The object is now no longer perceived as a container but rather a medium upon which a moving image is projected. This anamorphic process which deceived your senses is revealed as a projected image.


You continue to move around the piece and discover that the cube you spied on first entering the room is in reality a three-sided object.


Visitors leave by an exit door positioned behind the cube.

Scénario

At the beginning...

1 hour

3 hours

6 hours

 

   A l’entrée d’une pièce fermée par un rideau blanc, se trouve une urne qui contient des paires de lunettes polarisées. Une indication nous invite à se servir. On prend une paire que l’on met et on franchit le rideau.


Dès l’entrée, on découvre au centre d’une pièce d’environ six mètres de large un cube d’un mètre aux parois transparentes. A l’intérieur, une forme d’apparence organique émet des pulsations visuelles et des battements sonores à peine audibles. On est immédiatement saisi par l’illusion de la matérialité de cette forme.


En se rapprochant du cube, on remarque qu’il existe un point de vue idéal indiqué par une marque au sol, quelques pas en avant. Instinctivement on s’y arrête. Le bruit des battements est maintenant bien perceptible. Il provient clairement d’une source située à l’intérieur du cube.


Aucun éclairage direct ne touche le cube ni la forme en son sein, lesquels baignent dans une lumière douce et diffuse.
Depuis notre arrivée dans la pièce, la forme interne a imperceptiblement grandi. Qu’y a t-il exactement à l’intérieur? On s’approche, et la forme réagit à notre présence: ses battements accélèrent. Un pas sur le coté puis deux, et tout ce qui se situe à l’intérieur du cube s’étire et se déforme en anamorphose, jusqu’au moment où l’illusion se dévoile: la surface du cube n’est plus transparente mais bien opaque.


Elle n’est plus perçue comme un contenant mais comme un support, support sur lequel est projeté une image en mouvement. Cette anamorphose qui jusqu’alors s’est jouée de nos sens nous révèle donc son identité d’image projetée.


On continue à en faire le tour, et on constate que ce cube n’est en fait constitué que de trois faces qui donnent l’illusion d’un cube entier quand on entre dans la pièce.


Derrière le cube, une porte nous permet de sortir.