Biographies

At the beginning of the project Mikaël Auffret wondered about the use of the 3 dimensional relief video screening and interactive volumes in Art.

In 2001, he met Quentin Delamarre, a computing researcher in Angoulême.What initially was to be a collaboration between an artist searching for news tools and a mathematician looking for an innovative project quickly became a mutual quest to explore new creative methods. Their complementarity allows them to set up projects blending both the technological dimension and a sensitive and esthetic approach to new forms of perception and the ambiguity between real and virtual worlds.

 

 

Born in Boulogne-Billancourt on 29 December 1971, Quentin Delamarre graduated with a degree in engineering from the Ecole Centrale de Lyon in 1994, before going on to obtain a PhD in Information Technology in 2003 from the Université de Nice-Sophia Antipolis for a thesis written at the INRIA Sophia-Antipolis (national institute for research into computer science and automation).

As part of his engineering course, Quentin developed man-machine interfaces in the form of an articulated arm capable of manipulating objects in a 3D environment. His keen interest in real-virtual interactions saw him move into research in 1995 by means of a DEA (post-graduate diploma) in robotics and image processing at Sophia-Antipolis. For his diploma, Quentin presented an interface for the non-invasive capture of hand movements using a video camera.

First in his year, Quentin won a state scholarship to continue his studies by means of a thesis at the INRIA Sophia-Antipolis on "tracking the movements of articulated objects in video image sequences" under the tutorship of Professor Olivier Faugeras. He went on to present his work at conferences in France, Japan, the UK, Sweden, and Greece as well as in the pages of "Computer Vision and Image Understanding", a specialised international review. He was also invited to spend two months at the MIT's Artificial Intelligence Laboratory in Boston.

While studying for his PhD, Quentin Delamarre developed recognised expertise in computer vision, image processing and software programming. His research efforts led to the invention of a system to capture movement without markers. In 2000, Quentin's work caught the eye of the CEO of XD Productions who immediately invited him to join the company's research and development department in Angoulême. Quentin spent five years on the team developing his system and giving it real time capabilities with the assistance of funding from the state (CNC), the European Union (ESPRIT projects) and the CNBDI (national centre for comic strips and narrative drawing) amongst others. He was also active in developing systems enabling special effects to be created for the cinema, animation and television.

Quentin first met Mikaël Auffret in 2001. After pairing up to apply new technology to digital art, their successes included development of a system for the automatic generation of chaotic virtual forms and another system to explore the first in 3D.

In 2005, Quentin's research work for XD Productions culminated in a system which could be used by the audiovisual industry and computer games. Since the projects designed in partnership with Mikaël Auffret were now proving to be increasingly time intensive, Quentin decided to devote himself to this field on a full-time basis.

 

Mikaël Auffret began working for the Cryo Interactive video game company and the Canal+ studio in 1997 while still a design student. He had already developed a keen interest in interactivity and was exploring how best to marry this technique with the creation of digital art installations.

With an industrial design BTS (vocational training certificate) in his pocket, Mikaël enrolled at the Ecole des Beaux Arts de Brest in 1999, with a view to further investigating application of new technologies to artistic fields. For his DNAP (national diploma in visual arts), he presented a digital installation implementing virtual materials rendered palpable thanks to the 3D effect.

It was at the Ecole des Beaux Arts that he first embarked on his current artistic quest by conducting numerous projects focused on basic geometric shapes such as the cube. He also worked on the notions of frontier, time and the opposition of incompatible natural elements, by means of anamorphoses and 3D projections.

Mikaël then went on to work in the field of computer generated images and video games for the Paris-based In-Utero studio. In 2000, he turned to teaching, taking up a post as senior lecturer in 3D computer graphics at the EMCA/EMCI animation and computer graphics schools in Angoulême. Charged with hiring external contributors to further training courses at the EMCA and overseeing teaching methods, he taught computer generated images at the EMCI for four years, supervising the short films produced by students at the end of their courses.

At the same time, Mikaël continued to experiment with stereoscopic techniques in digital art with a particular focus on research into alternative processes for modelling and working with materials.

It was at this time, in 2001, that he first met Quentin Delamarre. They quickly realised that they were both working towards the same goal. Their partnership gave rise to a period of fruitful exchange and experimentation as they began to focus on a new field of research.

Among other projects, they were to create a system for automatic generation of chaotic virtual forms and another for 3D exploration. As the projects were growing in scale and the 2004/2005 educational year had come to an end, they decided to devote themselves to their shared passion full time.

Biographies

 

Mikaël Auffret rencontre Quentin Delamarre en 2001 à Angoulême. A l'origine de l'idée du projet Empty Cube, Mikaël s'interroge sur l'utilisation du relief, de projections vidéos, et d'algorithmes informatiques dans l'art. Et ce qui au départ devait être une collaboration entre un artiste en quête de nouveaux outils de création et un mathématicien à la recherche de projets innovants, devient rapidement une volonté commune d'explorer grâce aux technologies de notre temps de nouvelles voies artistiques.Leur complémentarité leur permet de concrétiser des projets intégrant à la fois une importante dimension technologique, une approche esthétique contemporaine et une réflexion sur les modalités du réel et notre préhension du monde.

 

 

  Quentin Delamarre est né le 29 décembre 1971 à Boulogne-Billancourt. Il obtient un diplôme d’ingénieur de l’Ecole Centrale de Lyon en 1994, puis en 2003 un Doctorat en Informatique de l’Université de Nice-Sophia Antipolis pour une thèse faite à l’INRIA Sophia-Antipolis (Institut National de Recherche en Informatique et en Automatique).


Pendant sa formation d’ingénieur, il est amené à développer une interface homme-machine sous la forme d’un bras articulé permettant de manipuler des objets dans un environnement 3D. Son intérêt pour cette interaction entre le réel et le virtuel l’amène à s’engager dans la recherche en 1995 en suivant un DEA de robotique et traitements d’images à Sophia-Antipolis. Il présente pour son diplôme une interface de capture non invasive des mouvements de la main à partir d’une caméra vidéo.


Major de sa promotion, il obtient une bourse de l’Etat pour poursuivre par une thèse à l’INRIA Sophia-Antipolis, sur « le suivi de mouvements d’objets articulés dans des séquences d’images vidéo », sous la direction du Professeur Olivier Faugeras. Il est amené à présenter ses travaux dans des conférences en France, au Japon, en Angleterre, en Suède, en Grèce, et dans le journal                                    « Computer Vision and Image Understanding », revue internationale spécialisée dans la vision par ordinateur. Il est aussi invité deux mois au laboratoire d’Intelligence Artificielle du MIT à Boston.


Pendant son doctorat, Quentin Delamarre devient expert en vision par ordinateur, en traitement d’images et en programmation logiciel. Ses recherches aboutissent à l’invention d’un système de captures de mouvements sans marqueurs. En 2000 ses travaux attirent l’attention du PDG de la société XD Productions, qui l’embauche dans son département de recherche et développement d’Angoulême. Au sein de cette équipe et pendant cinq ans il développe son système et le rend temps réel, grâce entre autres aux financements de l’Etat (CNC), de l’union européenne (projets ESPRIT) et du CNBDI (Centre National de la Bande Dessinée et de l’Image). Il participe aussi au développement de systèmes qui seront utilisés pour créer des effets spéciaux pour le cinéma, les films d’animation et la télévision.


Il rencontre Mikaël Auffret en 2001 avec qui il commence une collaboration sur l’utilisation des nouvelles technologies pour l’art numérique. Ensemble ils créent, entre autres, un système de génération automatique de formes virtuelles chaotiques et un système pour l’explorer en relief.


En 2005 son travail de recherche pour XD Productions aboutit à un système utilisable par l’industrie audiovisuelle et du jeu vidéo. Comme les projets imaginés par Mikaël Auffret et lui-même prennent de plus en plus d’ampleur, il décide de s’y consacrer à plein temps.

 


  En 1997, Mika Auffret, parallèlement à ses études en design, travaille pour la société de jeux vidéo Cryo Interactive et le studio Canal +. Il se passionne alors pour l’interactivité et décide d’associer cette technique à des oeuvres d’art numériques.


Il intègre donc l’école des Beaux Arts de Brest en 1999, après avoir obtenu son BTS en design industriel, afin d’approfondir ses questionnements sur l’application des nouvelles technologies aux domaines artistiques.Cela l’amène à présenter pour son DNAP une installation numérique mettant en oeuvre des matières virtuelles rendues palpables par le biais du relief.


C’est aux Beaux Arts qu’il pose les principes de ses questionnements artistiques actuels, en réalisant de nombreux projets mettant en scène des formes géométriques simples telles que le cube. Il travaille aussi sur les notions de frontière, de temps et de confrontations d’éléments naturels incompatibles, se servant pour cela d’anamorphoses et de projections en relief.


Il réintègre ensuite le domaine de la synthèse et du jeux vidéo dans le studio In-Utero à Paris. En 2000, il décide d’enseigner et obtient un poste de professeur principal de création infographique 3D au sein de l’équipe pédagogique de l’EMCA/EMCI, à Angoulême. Il est alors responsable du recrutement des intervenants et de la pédagogie des formations continues de l’EMCA, et enseigne pendant quatre années l’image de synthèse à l’EMCI, encadrant la réalisation des courts métrages de fin d’études des étudiants.


Il continue en parallèle à expérimenter les techniques de stéréoscopie dans l’art numérique, en se consacrant particulièrement à la recherche de procédés alternatifs de modélisation et de travail de la matière.


C’est à cette période, en 2001, qu’il rencontre Quentin Delamarre  avec qui il partage ses questionnements. Leur association donne lieu à des débats et des expérimentations, et ils entament ensembles un nouvel axe de recherche.


Ils créent, entre autres, un système de génération automatique de formes virtuelles chaotiques et un système pour l’explorer en relief. Alors que leurs projets prennent de plus en plus d’ampleur et que l’année scolaire 2004/05 s'achève, il décide de s’y consacrer à plein temps.